Established 1891

BCC players feature in ‘season’s best’ in the latest league handbook

The 2015 Tolchards Devon Cricket League handbook is certainly ‘a cut above the rest’.

This year’s edition is larger than usual and certainly ‘looks the part’! Despite the fact that it was, in general, a disappointing season on the pitch at Kensham Park, there are a number of players included in the listings of ‘top performances in the season’.

In terms of the 1st XI the 137 scored by Dan Hardy against Barton is recorded as the campaign’s second highest individual score behind the 139 from Brixham’s Andy Pugh against Lewdown.

The 111-run partnership between Dan Hardy and Tim Piper for the fourth wicket against Barton proved to be a season’s best.

Paul Nott tops the bowling courtesy of his seven for 43 against Chudleigh and Dan Hardy (third with 533) and Gian Botha (fourth with 520) are in the top ten of the runs scored over the A Division season.

Ross Acton tops the wickets taken table with his 39 with Paul Nott sitting sixth with his 31 wickets.

For the 2nd XI, that one splendid innings from this year’s captain Chris Acton – his 122 at home to Ipplepen, turned out to be the fourth highest individual score of the 2nd XI A Division season.

Phil Chappell’s six for nine against Chudleigh II is the second best bowling behind the six for eight on a soggy Saturday late afternoon at Kensham Park by Budleigh’s teenage seamer Joe Gore.

Connor Carthew takes 15th spot in terms of runs scored whilst Phil Chappell’s 23 wickets leaves him 11th in terms of the wickets taken in the league season.

15-year-old Will Birley and Luke Wrightson also make the bowling charts with their 11 wickets each.

Interestingly, despite a desperate season that saw all but one game won, the 2nd XI do have two wicket partnerships in the ‘season’s best’!

The 65 put on by Bryn Jones and Jordan Biss at Plymstock proved to be the season’s best for the sixth wicket and the 66 runs scored at home in the opening game of the season against Cornwood by Connor Carthew and Owen Buxton for the ninth wicket was not bettered all season.