Established 1891

The 2015 BCC Awards

The 2015 Awards were held at the Kensham Club and were clearly enjoyed by all who attended.

The Trophy Table
Pictures from the 2015 Awards Night

The meal was magnificent – with a capital M – and provided, as it had been 12 months before – by those wonderful folk from Pipers Farm. It was all very much last-minute, but Will (Greig) and Abi worked minor miracles from the fires outside the club and served up a terrific two-course meal.

Seven tables were filled up and, once everyone had eaten well the speeches were done.

Led, as ever, by chairman Derrick Foan who spoke about the season and how, 12 months before there had very much been an air of concern and apprehension about what 2015 might hold and yet, when the action began for a new Tolchards Devon League, the 1st XI was arguably as strong as it had been for many years!

He spoke of the challenges the season threw up, but closed by reminding everybody that 2016 is the club’s 125th birthday and a special year on and off the pitch is hoped for.

Club skipper Dan Hardy then took to the floor to deliver his usual eloquent talk – he spoke of the successes in the season with bat and ball and told the gathering that the five centuries scored in the season (two by Charlie Walker, two by Ross Acton and one by himself), was the most he could recall coming from a 1st XI season with the bat.

Next up was 2nd XI skipper Chris Acton who spoke well – concluding with what seemed a serious pitch to take the job on in 2016 (Hail Mary to that one!).

And so to the awards – which were handed out by President Roy Nott and Chairman Derrick Foan.

The 2nd team were up first with Chris Acton picking up the batting award, Will Birley, the bowling honour, Bryn Jones the fielding award and then Derrick Foan was named the 2nd XI Players’ Player of the season.

There was also a presentation to Bryn Jones on the occasion of him scoring his maiden BCC century in the season, before the 2nd XI Champagne moment was acknowledged and club legend Richard Money was called forward to make this particular presentation – handed to Ryan Shrewsberry for his stunning catch against Sidmouth III.

The 1st XI awards were: Batting to Charlie Walker, bowling to Ross Acton and fielding to Will Greig.

The 1st XI Players’ Player award went to Ross Acton.

Ross also then received the 1st XI champagne moment award from Richard Money – in his case for that never-to-be-forgotten maiden league ton and a hat-trick, all in the July meeting at home to Budleigh Salterton.

Next up was the Dick Fogden Award and this was presented (in the absence of club secretary Jane Fogden, by club Vice-Chairman Paul Nott. The award was made to Alan Dowrick for his sterling work, not just on the wicket between innings, but in general in many areas of club life.

The last of the awards was the special one that acknowledges the role of clubperson.

That was a popular decision as it went to Natalie Hunt who has been such a breath of fresh air since arriving to boost the junior section. Natalie was presented with the award by president Roy Nott.

Last, but not least was the traditional gift presentation by the club skipper of flowers to tea lady Julie Dowrick, 1st XI scorer Dett Kent and a pack of beer to matchday groundsman Alan Dowrick.

And so ended a very special awards evening – see you all in our 125th year!